Hi-ho, Hi-ho, it’s off to camp we go!

I should be packing the car. I should be cleaning the house in preparation for the housesitter. I should be planning the “what-to-dos” for vacation. But here I sit, surrounded by list after list of what I SHOULD be doing.

We are heading out on an adventure this morning. Yosemite. Camping. Bears. It really is quite an adventure for our family. Our last camping experience was not so good (it would take a whole other page to tell THAT story), and neither R or myself are really the outdoors type.

I made the mistake of reading all about BEARS. I wanted to be prepared. But now I’m becoming paranoid. I read that they can smell the crumbs in the car seats! How do people with kids SURVIVE this? What if the have ketchup on the clothes they bring into the tent? What if my 12 y/o tries to hide candy bar in his tent? (Because he would)

Time to stop being paranoid and just go. Focus instead on the wonderful things my family is going to experience, the memories we will make together. We’re reading Peter Pan on the drive up. Yes, read – not watch. I want to enjoy 5 days of no TV or video games. Just books and card games. And nature, even if it means mosquitos and bears.

Leave a Reply

